Vice Presidential Election to be held on August 5

Delhi: After the President in India, the Vice-President's post is the largest in the executive. Vice President also participates in legislative work as Chairman of Rajya Sabha. The Vice-President's election is done entirely by secret voting in a single transitional manner on the basis of proportional representation by electoral members formed in conjunction with members of both the houses of the Parliament.

Vice Presidential election will be held on August 5
Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi has announced the election schedule for election of the 15th vice-president from the Election Commission. Notification will be issued for the Vice Presidential election on July 4. However, the last date for filing of nomination papers is July 18 and the job of screening of nominations filled by candidates has been kept till July 19. At the same time, the EC has announced this date and announced the date of election of Vice President on August 5.

Vice-President elected 790 members of Parliament

Members of the electoral college formed on behalf of the elected and nominated representatives of both the Houses of Parliament for the election of Vice-President under the President and Vice Presidential Elections Act, 1952 and the rules framed for it 1974. In the Vice Presidential election, 233 elected members of the Rajya Sabha and 12 nominated members vote. Likewise, 543 members of Lok Sabha and two nominated MPs vote. In the Presidential election where electoral college chooses that there are legislators of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and different states, in contrast, Vice-Presidential elections are only Lok Sabha and Elected MPs of Rajya Sabha.

Hamid Ansari's tenure ends on August 10
Vice President Hamid Ansari's tenure ends on 10 August 2017. Hamid Ansari was made Vice President at the time of the UPA Government on August 11, 2007 after Bhairon Singh Shekhawat. Hamid Ansari is the country's twelfth Vice President.

Requirements for Vice Presidential Candidates
Any person can be elected vice president only when he
1- Be a citizen of India
2- Has completed thirty-five years of age
3- Rajya Sabha member has the ability to be elected
The thing to keep in mind is that any person who is in the position of any benefit under the Government of India or any state government or under any subordinate local authority, may not be eligible for the post of Vice-President.

Vice-President of India till date

Since 1952 Firstly, Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan became Vice President. After that, Zakir Hussain, V.V. Giri, Gopal Swat Pathak, BD Jatte, Mohammed Hidayatullah, Ramaswamy Venkataraman, Shankar Dayal Sharma, K R Narayanan, Krishnakant, Bhairon Singh Shekhawat and Hamid Ansari Vice-President.

                                                                                   ----Ramanand Yadav